Skip to main content

Correspondence, press-cuttings and papers concerning the Scottish devolution referendum campaign, Sep 1978-Jan 1979

CCO 20/11/86

Correspondents include:-

  1. Atkins, Humphrey, Chief Whip
  2. Elles, Baroness Diana, Chairman, Conservative Party International Office
  3. Fletcher, Alex, MP for Edinburgh North
  4. Garner, Anthony, Director of Organisation, Conservative Central Office
  5. Howarth, Alan
  6. Lindsey, John, Deputy Director of Publicity (Broadcasting), Conservative Central Office
  7. Maude, Angus, Deputy Party Chairman
  8. Plowden, Lady, Chairman, Independent Broadcasting Authority
  9. Reece, Gordon, Director of Publicity, Conservative Central Office
  10. Sanderson, Russell, President, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Association
  11. Taylor, Teddy, MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland
  12. Thorneycroft, Lord Peter, Conservative Party Chairman
  13. Wynn, Graham, Scotland Desk Officer, Conservative Research Department


Minutes of meetings held to discuss the Scottish Referendum Campaign, including those with representatives of the 'Scotland Says No' group, chaired by Lord Thorneycroft:-

  1. 11/09/1978
  2. 01/11/1978
  3. 16/11/1978
  4. 22/11/1978
  5. 14/12/1978
  6. 30/01/1979
  7. 06/02/1979

Conservative Central Office press releases issued on behalf of Francis Pym, Opposition Spokesman on Devolution:-

  1. 23/09/1978, Dumfries
  2. 13/01/1979, Fife


  • Creation: Sep 1978-Jan 1979


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/11/86

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom