Skip to main content

Correspondence and papers concerning the general political situation in Northern Ireland, 1974-1979

CCO 20/1/22

Papers cover relations between the Conservative Party and the Ulster Unionist Party following the latter's rejection of the Sunningdale power-sharing agreement of 1973, and with the breakaway Unionist Party of Northern Ireland

Correspondents include:-

  1. Butler, Sir Adam Courtauld, MP for Bosworth (1970-1987) and Parliamentary Private Secretary to Margaret Thatcher (1975-1979)
  2. Carington, Peter, 6th Baron Carrington, Leader of the Opposition in the House of Lords (1974-1979)
  3. Cunningham, Lieutenant-General James, President, Ulster Unionist Council (c1973-1980)
  4. Faulkner, Brian, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland (1971-1972) and Chief Executive of Northern Ireland (1974)
  5. Gardner, Sir Edward Lucas, MP for Fylde South (1970-1983)
  6. Garel-Jones, William, Baron Garel-Jones
  7. Garner, Sir Anthony, Director of Organisation, Conservative Central Office (1976-1988)
  8. Henderson, Captain Oscar William James, owner of the Belfast Newsletter(1964-1991)
  9. Howarth, Alan, Conservative Research Department
  10. Johnston, Charles Collier, Baron Johnston of Rockport, Chairman of the National Union
  11. McLachlan, Peter, Unionist Party of Northern Ireland Member for South Antrim, Northern Ireland Assembly (1973-c1974)
  12. Maude, Angus, Deputy Party Chairman (c1976-1979)
  13. Molyneaux, James, Leader of the Ulster Unionists in the House of Commons (1974-?]
  14. Neave, Airey, Conservative Opposition Spokesman on Northern Ireland (1974-1979)
  15. Patten, Chris, Director, Conservative Research Department (1974-1979)
  16. Pratt, Roger
  17. Radcliffe van Straubenzee, Sir William, Northern Ireland Minister (1972-1974)
  18. Smith, D.W., Central Office Agent
  19. Thorneycroft, Peter, Party Chairman (1975-1981)
  20. Waldegrave, William, MP for Bristol West (1979-1997)
  21. Whitelaw, William, 1st Viscount Whitelaw, Party Chairman (1974-1975)
  22. Wren-Hilton, Michael, Chairman, Fylde South Conservative & Unionist Association


  1. Notes of a meeting chaired by Party Chairman Lord Carrington on the relationship with the Ulster Unionists, 22/05/1974
  2. Draft policy statement of the Ulster Unionist Party, 01/07/1974
  3. Minutes of the Conservative Parliamentary Northern Ireland Committee, 17/07/1974
  4. Notes of a meeting between John Biggs-Davison MP, Conservative Opposition Spokesman on Northern Ireland, with officers of the Ulster Unionist Council, Belfast, 19/03/1976
  5. Transcript of a speech by Airey Neave MP to the Abingdon Conservative Club, 21/01/1978
  6. National Young Conservatives' reports proposing that a delegation visit Northern Ireland, and reporting on the subsequent youth conference held in Belfast, Nov 1978
  7. Conservative Research Department brief NI(78)1 'Increased representation for Northern Ireland', 27/11/1978 [Author: AC/JM]
  8. Minutes of a meeting to discuss Northern Ireland, chaired by Party Chairman Lord Thorneycroft, 13/12/1978
  9. National Young Conservatives' press release, 'YC's to hold conference for Northern Ireland Youth', 07/02/1979


  • Creation: 1974-1979


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English

Conditions Governing Access



CCO 20/1/22

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom