Skip to main content

Various cantatas and other larger-scale works, [c 1963]-Dec 1964, n.d.

MSS. Mus. b. 169-174

  • Request
MS. Mus. b. 169: 9 songs for unison voices (2-part in no. 9) and piano. Score, 10 leaves, [c 1963]. 5 songs, which were published as 'Araby, and Please to remember', and 'Sailor's song, The silver penny, and Tillie', London, Novello, 1963; and all 9, revised, as 'Sea and shore songs', Borough Green, Novello, 1968. The manuscript corresponds to neither version.
  1. 'Old Tillie Turverycombe'
  2. 'A screech across the sands'
  3. 'Here am I, A poor old guy'
  4. 'King David was a sorrowful man'
  5. 'Sailorman, I'll give to you'
  6. 'There came an old sailor'
  7. 'Dark-browed sailor, tell me now'
  8. 'Here is a sea-legged sailor'
  9. 'As we sailed out of London river'
MS. Mus. b. 170: Canticles of the Virgin Mary for SSA, flute, oboe, clarinet and cello. Score, i + 23 pages, dated at end, 'December 1964', with pencil revisions. Vocal score published, London, Novello, 1965.

MS. Mus. b. 171: Canticles of the Virgin Mary. Score, a copy of MS. Mus. b. 170, i + 19 pages, also dated 'December 1964', with pencil revisions.

MS. Mus. b. 173: Canticles of the Virgin Mary. Harp part, edited by David Watkins, i + 9 pages, n.d.

MS. Mus. b. 174: Canticles of the Virgin Mary. Harp part, edited by David Watkins, i + 12 pages, n.d.


  • [c 1963]-Dec 1964, n.d.


6 shelfmarks

Language of Materials

  • English


MSS. Mus. b. 169-174

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom