Skip to main content

Op. 18. Seven sonnets by William Shakespeare, 1909

MS. Mus. c. 152/1-2

  • Request
For voice and orchestra. I. 'If there be nothing new'; II. 'Like as the waves make towards the pebbled shore'; III. 'Is it thy will thy image should keep open'; IV. 'To me, fair friend, you never can be old'; V. 'Let not my love be call'd idolatory'; VI. 'When in the chronical of wasted time'; VII. 'Alas, 'tis time I have gone here and there'.

The full score was published eventually by Stainer & Bell in 1926, from plates which had originally been sent to Germany for publication by Breitkopf & Härtel before the outbreak of the Great War. Vocal score published 1948.

1. Autograph full score, bound (vi + 80 pages).

2. Autograph vocal score, bound (v + 34 pages).


  • 1909


114 pages

Language of Materials

  • English


MS. Mus. c. 152/1-2

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom