Skip to main content

Fifty-seven English motets and madrigals, for 3, 4 and 5 voices, written chiefly by T. Hamond, written in about 1630-1640

MSS. Mus. f. 11-15

  • Request

Fifty-seven English motets and madrigals, for 3, 4 and 5 voices (the 'Cantus', 'Quintus', 'Altus', 'Tenor' and 'Bassus' parts, each in a separate volume). The writing is almost entirely Thomas Hamond's: the volumes are not complete, but the lists which occur in MSS. Mus. f. 11, 15, and other notes, give details of the imperfections.

The authors' names are:

  1. William Byrde
  2. Orlando Gibbons
  3. Nathaniel Giles
  4. Thomas Morley
  5. [?] Munday
  6. Martin Pearson
  7. Thomas Ravenscroft
  8. [?] White.


  • Creation: written in about 1630-1640


197 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • English


MSS. Mus. f. 11-15

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. IV, nos. 16829-16833

Custodial History

Owned by the writer, Thomas Hamond, till at least 1660.

Physical Facet

On paper


5 1/2 × 8 3/8 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom