Skip to main content

Cantatas, 18th cent.

MS. Mus. c. 3

  • Request

Cantatas, made up of several MSS., comprising:

  1. (fol. 2). 'Celestial muse that dost command.'
  2. (fol. 9). A dirge for Romeo and Juliet ('Rise, rise, heartbreaking sighs')
  3. (fol. 21). A dialogue ('Did you not once, Lucinda, vow', words by Dryden)
  4. (fol. 30). Thyrsis ('Thus on a bed')
  5. (fol. 44). Corydon and Miranda, a pastoral interlude ('It must be so')
  6. (fol. 70). Deidamia's Parting with Achilles, a song by dr. W. Boyce: perhaps autograph, signed 'Wm. Boyce.'
  7. (fol. 76). Danae ('By Danae's progeny')
  8. (fol. 85). 'The Rival Nations', no words
  9. (fols. 93, 95). 'Aria scotese' and another air
  10. (fols. 102, 121, 123v). Three cantatas by Francesco Gasparini ('Andate, o miei sospiri' sent to Al. Scarlatti: 'Astianatte', beg. 'Amo e sdegno': 'Astianatte', . 'II mio sposo'), (fols. 102-113) are in the same hand
  11. (fol. 105v). 'Risposta del Allesandro Scarlatti a Gasparini con Idea humana' and (fol. 110v) '... con Idea inumana.'
  12. (fol. 114). Two cantatas by A. Scarlatti ('Abandonato i solo' and 'Ora che' F verno')
  13. (fol. 125v). 'Da tuoi lumi' by Antonio Caldara
  14. (fol. 127). Two cantatas ('Lascia mi un sol momento' and one imperfect at beginning, beg. '-- dermi tradita cosi').


  • Creation: 18th cent.


135 Leaves

Language of Materials

  • Multiple languages
  • English
  • Italian


MS. Mus. c. 3

Other Finding Aids

Falconer Madan, et al., A summary catalogue of western manuscripts in the Bodleian Library at Oxford which have not hitherto been catalogued in the Quarto series (7 vols. in 8 [vol. II in 2 parts], Oxford, 1895-1953; reprinted, with corrections in vols. I and VII, Munich, 1980), vol. IV, no. 16682

Physical Facet

On paper


12 1/2 × 9 1/8 in.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom