Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

Keyboard pieces (Fugues) by Johann Mattheson (1681-1764) and others, 18th cent.

MS. Mus. c. 105

  • How to
Johann Mattheson (1681-1764): Fugues for organ, transcribed from Die wol-klingende Finger-Sprache, in Zwӧlff Fugen, mit zwey biss drey Subjecten, entworffen …, Erster (-Zweyter) Theil (Hamburg, Verlage des Verfassers, 1735, 1737). [RISM 990040092; A/1 M 1401]

Beginning on fol. 3v:
  1. (fols. 3v-4) Fuga 1 in G major.
  2. (fols. 5v-6) Fuga 2 in C minor.
  3. (fols. 7v-8) Fuga 3 in F major.
  4. (fols. 9v-10) Fuga 4 in B flat major.
  5. (fols. 11v-12) Fuga 5 in E flat major.
  6. (fols. 13-14r) [Fugue] in C minor.
  7. (fol. 14v) Fughetta in C minor.
  8. (fols. 15v-16r) [Fugue] in F minor.
  9. (fols. 17v-18v) Sinfonia and Fugue in C major.
  10. (fols. 20v and 19r) Fuga 9 in F major.
  11. (fols. 21v-22r) Fuga [11] in C minor.
  12. (fols. 23v-24r) Fuga [12] in G major.
Added by other hands are:

(a) (fols. 1v-2r) Pergolesi: Fugue in F minor, [preceded by the first 9 bars copied in G minor (crossed through)]

(b) (fols. 2v and 1r) [J. B. Kehl] Choral prelude, 'O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort' in D major.

(c) (fols. 4v and 3) G. F. Handel: Fugue in F minor [Allegro from Suite no. 6, HWV 431/3, transposed from F sharp minor].

(d) (fol. 17r) Piece [toccata?] in F major. [Composer unidentified]

(e) (fols. 19v-20r) [C. H. Graun]: Vivace in F minor (incomplete) ['Freuet euch alle ihr Frommen' from Der Tod Jesu, GraunWV B:VII:2/20].


  • 18th cent.


24 Leaves


MS. Mus. c. 105

Other Finding Aids

RISM 800227612

Physical Facet

Fol., cropped.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom