Skip to main content

Johann Christopher Pepusch (1667-1752): Symphony and Concerto, 26 Sep 1749

MS. Mus. c. 103

  • How to
i + 52 leaves in 2 wrappers (bound in), each dated 26 Sep 1749.

  1. (fols. 1-30v) 'No. 6', 'Simphony a 4' in A minor. Score and 10 parts (violins, viola and cello) [Cooke 3:007], followed by an untitled piece in C major, 'tentatively' attributable to Pepusch [Cooke 10:002] on the final page of each part.
  2. (fols. 32-52) 'No. 16' 'Concerto a 4' in G major, for 2 solo violins and strings, in 2 movements. Score and 11 parts (solo and ripieno violins, viola and bass). [The first 3 movts. of the opening sinfonia to the masque Myrtillo and Lauro, Cooke 5:002]


  • 26 Sep 1749


2 folders

Language of Materials

  • Italian


MS. Mus. c. 103

Other Finding Aids

RISM 800227596


  • Donald F. Cooke, The life and works of J. Chr. Pepusch (1667-1752) (London, 1983)
  • Harry Diack Johnstone, 'Westminster Abbey and the Academy of Ancient Music: A Library once Lost and now Partially Recovered', Music & Letters , 95:3 (2014) 329–373, pp. 370-371.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom