Skip to main content

1987 General Election: Manifesto 1st drafts, Apr 1987

CRD 4/30/7/29

  • How to
Letters from Stephen Sherbourne and Brian Griffiths dated 07/04/1987 and 16/04/1987 respectively, concerning a meeting to discuss the preparation of the Conservative Party Manifesto, to be held at Chequers on 21/04/1987

[The meeting was to be attended by the following:-
  1. Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister
  2. Lord Whitelaw, Deputy Prime Minister
  3. Norman Tebbit, Party Chairman
  4. Lord Young, Secretary of State for Employment
  5. Peter Morrison, Deputy Party Chairman
  6. Michael Alison, Parliamentary Private Secretary to Mrs Thatcher
  7. Brian Griffiths, Head of Policy Unit, 10 Downing Street
  8. John O’Sullivan, Speechwriter, 10 Downing Street
  9. Robin Harris, Director, Conservative Research Department
  10. John MacGregor, Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  11. Stephen Sherbourne, Political Secretary, 10 Downing Street]
  1. First Draft of the Manifesto, dated 15/04/1987
  2. Second Draft of the Manifesto, dated 24/04/1987
  3. Handwritten notes made during the meeting at Chequers, 21/04/1987


  • Apr 1987


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English


CRD 4/30/7/29

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom