Skip to main content

1987 General Election: Strategy Group minutes and agendas, Jun 1986-Mar 1987

CRD 4/30/7/6

  • How to
Minutes includes:-
  1. SG1: 1st meeting, 23/06/1986
  2. SG2: 2nd meeting, 30/06/1986
  3. SG3: 3rd meeting, 07/07/1986
  4. SG4: 4th meeting, 21/07/1986
  5. SG5: 5th meeting, 13/10/1986
  6. SG6: 6th meeting, 27/10/1986
  7. SG7: 7th meeting, 03/11/1986
  8. SG8: 8th meeting, 17/11/1986
  9. SG9: 9th meeting, 24/11/1986
  10. SG10: 10th meeting, 15/12/1986
  11. SG11: 11th meeting, 19/01/1987
  12. SG12: 12th meeting, 26/01/1987
  13. SG13: 13th meeting, 02/02/1987
  14. SG14: 14th meeting, 09/02/1987
  15. SG15: 15th meeting, 16/02/1987
  16. SG16: 16th meeting, 02/03/1987
  17. SG17: 17th meeting, 09/03/1987


  • Jun 1986-Mar 1987


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English


CRD 4/30/7/6

Biographical / Historical

The Strategy Group was established by Margaret Thatcher in the Summer of 1986 to ‘review policies and strategy and to initiate work for the election manifesto and our third term of office’, in conjunction with the Policy Unit based at 10 Downing Street. The core membership of the Group included:-
  1. Margaret Thatcher
  2. Lord Whitelaw, Deputy Prime Minister
  3. Norman Tebbit, Party Chairman
  4. Sir Geoffrey Howe, Foreign Secretary
  5. Nigel Lawson, Chancellor of the Exchequer
  6. Douglas Hurd, Home Secretary
  7. John Wakeham, Chief Whip
Additional Ministers attended the Group by invitation when their particular policy area was under discussion.

As part of its work, the Group set up 11 policy groups, each under the chairmanship of a Cabinet Minister with secretariat support provided by the Conservative Research Department. Robin Harris, Director of CRD, and Stephen Sherbourne, Political Adviser at No. 10, were responsible for overall organisation and servicing of the groups. It was intended that each policy group would report by December 1986:
  1. Managing the Economy: Chairman: Nigel Lawson
  2. Working Britain: Chairman: Lord Young
  3. Home Office and Inner Cities: Chairman: Douglas Hurd
  4. National Health Service: Chairman: Norman Fowler
  5. Education and Training: Chairman: Kenneth Baker
  6. Housing and Planning: Chairman:Nicholas Ridley
  7. Environment and Energy: Chairman: Peter Walker
  8. Rural Britain: Chairman: Michael Jopling
  9. Family and Society: Chairman: Nicholas Edwards
  10. Young People: Chairman: John Moore
  11. Foreign Affairs, Europe and Defence: Joint Chairmen: Sir Geoffrey Howe and George Younger

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom