Skip to main content

Economic Policy Group (PG/86/1): minutes, Aug-Nov 1986

CRD 4/4/190

  • How to
The Economic Policy Group was one of several policy groups set up by Margaret Thatcher with the intention that they report to the Ministerial Strategy Group by Christmas 1986. The group consisted of:-
  1. Nigel Lawson, Chancellor of the Exchequer
  2. John MacGregor, Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  3. Nigel Forman, MP for Carshalton and Wallington
  4. David Howell, MP for Guildford
  5. Sir Peter Lane, Chairman, National Union Executive Committee
  6. Professor Stephen Littlechild, Birmingham University
  7. Peter Lilley, MP for St Albans
  8. John Major, Minister of State for Social Security
  9. Cecil Parkinson, MP for Hertsmere
  10. Peter Cropper
  11. Judith Chaplin, Secretary
  12. Sir Peter Hordern, MP for Horsham
  13. John Redwood, formerly Head of No. 10 Policy Unit
The Group met six times between September-December 1986.

Minutes include:-
  1. PG/86/1/AM: Meeting with Chancellor, 01/08/1986
  2. PG/86/1/AM: Meeting with Chancellor, 09/09/1986
  3. PG/86/1/AM/2: Minutes of 1st meeting, 17/09/1986
  4. PG/86/1/AM/3: Minutes of 2nd meeting, 24/09/1986
  5. PG/86/1/AM/3: Minutes of 3rd meeting, 15/10/1986
  6. PG/86/1/AM/3: Supplementary minutes of 3rd meeting, 15/10/1986
  7. PG/86/1/AM/4: Minutes of 4th meeting, 18/10/1986
  8. PG/86/1/AM/5: Minutes of 5th meeting, 12/11/1986


  • Aug-Nov 1986


1 file

Language of Materials

  • English


CRD 4/4/190

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom