Skip to main content

Southern Africa Policy Group, 1975-1979

The Southern Africa Policy Group [Group reference no. PG/78/75] was set up in 1975 and was chaired by Peter Blaker MP (subsequently Minister for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, 1974 and 1979-1981). Its membership consisted of:-
  1. Richard Luce, MP for Shoreham
  2. Malcolm Rifkind, MP for Edinburgh Pentlands
  3. Cyril Townshend, MP for Bexleyheath
  4. Christopher Tugendhat, MP for City of London and Westminster South
  5. Patrick Wall, MP for Haltemprice
  6. Rob Shepherd, Conservative Research Department [Secretary]
It was one of a number of policy groups set up as part of the policy review instituted by Margaret Thatcher and led by Sir Keith Joseph. Each policy group was instructed to report to its respective Shadow Minister by July 1976 prior to a comprehensive policy discussion by the Shadow Cabinet.


  • 1975-1979

Language of Materials

  • English

Full range of shelfmarks:

CRD 4/37/1-6

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom