Skip to main content
Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts will be unavailable for several hours on the morning of Tuesday 9th March 2021 for system maintenance.

'J.S. Bach. Kirchen-Cantaten IV', n.d.

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 62

  • How to
A volume of scores of music. All but the last piece is copied by E. Henschke. F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy's list of contents is pasted on the cover.
  1. (fols. 1-9v) Ouverture in B minor, BWV 1067.
  2. (fols. 11-39) Brandenburg concerto no. 5 in D, BWV 1050.
  3. (fols. 40-58) Cantata 'Wer sich selbst erhöhet', BWV 47.
  4. (fols. 59-77) Cantata 'Ich glaube, lieber Herr', BWV 109.
  5. (fols. 78-86v) Cantata 'Nur jedem das Seine', BWV 163.
  6. (fols. 87-109v) Cantata 'Aus der Tiefen rufe ich', BWV 131. Lacks bassoon part.
  7. (fols. 110-125) Cantata 'Ach Herr mich armen Sünder', BWV 135.
  8. (fols. 126-136v) Cantata 'Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende', BWV 27.
  9. (fols. 137-152) Cantata 'Wohl dem, der sich auf seinen Gott', BWV 139. Copied by F. Hauser's copyist; see MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 61, 3, 5 and 6. Lacks violin parts for tenor aria.


  • n.d.


154 Leaves


MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c. 62

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bequeathed by Helena Deneke, 1973.

Physical Facet

i + 153 leaves. Original binding, though the spine was repaired;

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom