Skip to main content

A collection of motets and madrigals by various composers, in score, mid-18th cent.

MS. Tenbury 1245

  • How to
The book which contains them is considerably older than the manuscript, and was sold by John Playford. At the reverse end are nine short instrumental pieces, of which the melody alone is given on a single stave, and probably first to be written.

  1. (p. 1) Tribulationes cordis mei. H. Bamabei
  2. (p. 20) Annunciate gentes. G. Carissimi
  3. (p. 40) Gloria Patri to Deus Misereatur in C, not printed by Joseph Corfe in 1797. J. Kent
  4. (p. 44) So gracious is thy sweet self. G. Ferretti
  5. (p. 49) Due begl'occhi lucend. G. Pizzoni
  6. (p. 54) Donna crudel. G. Ferretti
  7. (p. 58) Come poss'io morir. G. Ferretti
  8. (p. 62) Gloriana beholding. P. Nenna
  9. (p. 112) Haste thee O Lord. Thomas Ford
  10. (p. 114) Lord, I will praise thee. W. Byrd


  • mid-18th cent.


1 volume


MS. Tenbury 1245


7 3/4 x 5 3/4inches obl.

Repository Details

Part of the Bodleian Libraries Repository

Weston Library
Broad Street
Oxford OX1 3BG United Kingdom